The conference features traditional research, multi-media works, art installations, and a variety of other creative projects. Students compete in a range of categories for recognition of exceptional achievement and cash awards.

The 2018 Fall Student Conference will be at the Tozier Gymnasium on Wednesday, December 12 from 7:45 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

The goals of the Unity College Student Conference are to:

  • Encourage, promote, and recognize all quality academic and professional work among Unity College students
  • Help build a campus culture that values undergraduate research
  • Provide professional experience presenting in an academic community

For information about the Student Conference including faculty sponsorship, submission terms, format requirements and past conference highlights, visit the Student Conference Website.

Spring 2018 Conference Award Winners

  • Creativity Award – Cyr, Joseph – Portico Quartet featuring Cornelia – Steepless (Kaytranada & KVMA Remix) KVMA Music Video
  • Education Award – Burnell, Meghan The Groundwater Experience
  • Environmental Stewardship Award – Bulson, Bradley; Koch, Alexander M.; MaRose, Sophie; Villegas, Emma – Harmful Pollutants Have Invaded The Unity College Woodlot: An Analysis and Transdisciplinary Approach to Solving this Problem
  • Research Award (Single Author) – Hathaway, Amanda – American red squirrel (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus) use of coarse woody debris in a northeastern forest
  • Research Award (Multiple Authors) – Aukstikalnis, David; Neitzel, Sarah; Nucolo, Anthony; Velozo, Nicole – Idle talk: The Environmental and Economic Costs of Employee Idling on the Unity College Campus
  • Campus Sustainability Award – Miller, Susannah; Sanschagrin, Meaghan; Monaghan, James – Accessing Safety at Unity College
  • Environmental Professionals Award – Beaudette, Jake, Geissler, Scott, Kreitman, Jillian, Quenneville, Dakota, Smith, Tyler, Turner, Sumner, Ullman, Jessica, Walters, Natika – Global Sustainable Development: Common Goals – Uncommon Solutions
  • Unity Partnership Award – Culbertson, Kameron – Use of remote cameras to assess moose activity at roadside salt pools on Route 17
  • Award for Academic Excellence – Rivera-Butler, Larissa – Habitat Selection of Cervus canadensis Before and After the 2012 Fontenelle Wildfire in Wyoming
  • Unity Award – Sullivan, Laurel – The location and abundance of baleen whales in relation to tidal changes and upwelling in the Bay of Fundy, Canada

Fall 2017 Conference Award Winners

  • Creativity Award – Ivy Thurber Unity College Wildlife Museum
  • Education Award – Rachel Yanchuk, Kaitlyn Berwick, Megan McKeighan A Home for Edith
  • Environmental Stewardship Award – Morgan DuBois, Victor Garcia, Jacob Beaudette, Michael Martino, Thomas Pierpoint, Kathleen Carey Lead Detection in Bird Feces Using an Atomic Absorption Spectrometer
  • Research Award (Single Author) – Melanie Jackson Modeling the health of an American black bear (Ursus americanus) population in central Maine using stable isotopes as predictors 
  • Research Award (Multiple Authors) – Michelle Roberts, Emily Macdonald, Matt Porter, Brian Harris-Jones, Sean Stewart, Savannah Sprague Unity Pond: Vertical profile and unusual mixing
  • Campus Sustainability Award – Lydia Christopher, Laurel Sullivan, Trey Thomes, Tomas Kierstead, Matthew Harmon, Patrickmorgan Donovan Green Dorm Living
  • Environmental Professionals Award – Meghan Burnell, Morgan DuBois, Brian Harris-Jones, Sierra Hopkins, Arthur Jacques, Emily MacDonald, Emily McCarthy, Ethan Oliver, Dillan Schmidt, Alyssa Silvia, Den Suehiro, Matt Porter, and Jordan Leavitt Geomorphology: Sandy Stream Paleo and Modern Channel Investigation
  • Unity Partnership Award – Erin Raatz, Allison Stevens, Devon Funt General Management Plan- Waldo County Technical Center
  • Award for Academic Excellence – Stephen Arsenault Predicting White-tailed Deer Winter Habitat Use in Central Maine through the Winter Severity Index
  • Unity Award – Gregory LeClair A Population Assessment for Wood Turtles (Glyptemys insculpta) in Central Maine

Spring 2017 Conference Award Winners

  • Creativity Award to Ru Allen for Remnants Reborn – Rethinking what is left behind
  • Environmental Stewardship Award to E. Joe Moran for Mitigation of Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) in White-tailed deer through strategic harvest management regimes
  • Research Award, Single Author to Sarah McQuade for Occupancy by Various Species of Fragmented and intact forest in Southern Connecticut
  • Research Award, 2-7 Author to Scott Geissier; Bethany Slack; Thomas Hall; Rhyan Pacquerau for Relationship between beaver forage range and habitat quality in Waldo County, Maine
  • Sustainability Award to Samantha McGarrigle; Raeann Bond; Mariza Giofriddo; Matthew Macieiko; Tori Pilger; Elizabeth Villies for Rain and Pollinator Gardens: Increasing Biodiversity on the Unity College Campus
  • Environment Professional Award to Sam Balda; Derrick Bates; Sierra Costa-Pierce; Caden Dole; Emily Goldthwaite; Victoria Jeffcoats; Zahrra Jordan; Kelly Lange; Emily Levasseur; Megan McKeighan; Joshua Minnich; Jacob Norris; Jacob Poulin; Erin Raatz; Camden Smith; Alicia Tietz; Patrick Todd; Elizabeth Villies; Christopher Will; Brandon Wright for Adventure Therapy Modalities and Populations: Theoretical, Integrative, & Program Proposal Approaches
  • Unity Partnership Award to Adam Winsor; Leighanne Wilson; Allison Stevens; Rachael Waugh; Matthew Squires; Jaden L Reale; Patricia Paskerta; Rhyan Paquereau; Jacob Norris; Collin Nafziger; Ian Montgomery; Kenneth McCumber; Kyle Lee; Samantha Holt; Peter Harvey; Jarad Greeley; Morticia Goodell; Alexander Gastelu; Devon Funt; Joel Devoid; Katherine Cummings; Benjamin Collins; Brian Fisher; Michael Anderson; Howard Asal, Joshua Bernier; Kaitlyn Berwick; Raeann Bond; Megan Carroll for Administration & Organization: Community Based Outreach Projects
  • Award for Academic Excellence to Lauren Souther for Antibacterial activity of secondary compounds extracted from endophytic fungi from marine macroalgae in Maine.
  • Unity Award to Rae-Ann MacLellan-Hurd for Quantitative model of phosphorous inputs into Lake Winnecook